Charles Spurgeon on “The birth of Christ”

Charles Spurgeon wrote a sermon on the birth of Christ many years ago. I just want to share a couple paragraphs from this sermon that will hopefully bless you today.

This is His name, “God with us”–God with us, by His Incarnation, for the august Creator of the world did walk upon this globe! He who made ten thousand orbs, each of them more mighty and more vast than this earth, became the Inhabitant of this tiny atom! He who was from everlasting to everlasting, came to this world of time and stood upon the narrow neck of land betwixt the two unbounded seas! “God with us.” He has not lost that name–Jesus had that name on earth and He has it, now, in Heaven! He is now, “God with us.”

Believer, He is God with you to protect you! You are not alone, because the Savior is with you! Put me in the desert, where vegetation grows not–I can still say, “God with us.” Put me on the wild ocean and let my ship dance madly on the waves–I would still say, “Immanuel, God with us.” Mount me on the sunbeam and let me fly beyond the western sea–still I would say, “God with us.” Let my body dive down into the depths of the ocean and let me hide in its caverns–still I could, as a child of God say, “God with us.” Yes, and in the grave, sleeping there in corruption–still I can see the footmarks of Jesus! He trod the path of all His people and His name is still, “God with us.”

And he closes his message with…

Now, a happy Christmas to you all and it will be a happy Christmas if you have God with you! I shall say nothing, today, against festivities on this great birthday of Christ. I hold that, perhaps, it is not right to have the birthday celebrated, but we will never be among those who think it as much a duty to celebrate it the wrong way as others the right! But we will, tomorrow, think of Christ’s birthday. We shall be obliged to do it, I am sure, however sturdily we may hold to our rough Puritanism. And so, “let us keep the feast, not with old leaven, neither with the leaven of malice and wickedness; but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.” Do not feast as if you wished to keep the festival of Bacchus! Do not live, tomorrow, as if you adored some heathen divinity. Feast, Christians, feast! You have a right to feast. Go to the house of feasting tomorrow! Celebrate your Savior’s birth. Do not be ashamed to be glad–you have a right to be happy. Solomon says, “Go your way, eat your bread with joy, and drink your wine with a merry heart; for God now accepts your works. Let your garments be always white and let your head lack no ointment.”

Remember that your Master ate butter and honey. Go your way, rejoice tomorrow, but, in your feasting, think of the Man in Bethlehem–let Him have a place in your hearts, give Him the glory, think of the virgin who conceived Him–but think, most of all, of the Man born, the Child given! I finish by again saying–“A HAPPY CHRISTMAS TO YOU ALL!”

Published by sovereigngraceapologetics

www.sgapologetics.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started